Barbados. Relations are based on Canada – West Indies Trade Agreement and protocol thereto (see Commonwealth Caribbean). GATT effective November 30, 1966. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Botswana. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment.)

Britain. Trade Agreement effective September 1, 1937; modified by exchanges of letters November 16, 1938 and October 30, 1947, was terminated by Britain on January 31, 1973 as a result of Britain's accession to the EEC. The tariff preferences it extended to Canada were being phased out over a transitional period ending in 1977. GATT effective January 1, 1948.

Commonwealth Caribbean – Belize (formerly British Honduras), Bermuda, Leeward Islands, Windward Islands. Canada – British West Indies Trade Agreement was signed July 6, 1925, and came in force April 30, 1927; Canadian notice of termination of November 23, 1938, was replaced by notice of December 27, 1939 which continued the agreement. Protocol signed July 8, 1966, provides inter alia for continuation of 1925 agreement. Belize, Bermuda, the Leeward Islands and the Windward Islands participate in GATT. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Cyprus. GATT effective August 16, 1960. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Fiji. Maintains de facto application of GATT. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Fiji. Fiji extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Gambia. GATT effective February 18, 1965. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Gambia. Gambia extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Ghana. GATT effective October 18, 1957. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Ghana, except on cocoa beans. Ghana extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Grenada. Relations are based on the Canada – West Indies Trade Agreement and protocol thereto (see Commonwealth Caribbean). Participation in GATT. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Guyana. Relations are based on the Canada – West Indies Trade Agreement and protocol thereto (see Commonwealth Caribbean). GATT effective July 5, 1966. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

India. Since 1897 Canada has unilaterally accorded British preferential treatment without contractual obligation. GATT effective July 8, 1948. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to India. India extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Jamaica. Relations are based on Canada – West Indies Trade Agreement and protocol thereto (see Commonwealth Caribbean). GATT effective August 6, 1962. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Kenya. GATT effective December 12, 1963. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Kenya. Kenya extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Lesotho. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Lesotho.)

Malawi. Malawi and Canada observe the terms of 1958 Trade Agreement between Canada and the former Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland. GATT effective July 6, 1964. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Malaysia. GATT effective September 16, 1963. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Malaysia. Malaysia extends some preferential rates to Canada.)